Sign in to follow this  
Skinsguy

Curing Sleep Apnea?

This is a re-post from the old board. I wrote an article a few weeks ago about my struggles with sleep apnea. For those of you who also suffer from it or know someone who does, you should take time to read my article. Keep in mind, I'm not a professional, articulate writer, so there might be some grammar errors as I didn't really proof read for very long. Please take time to read it and comment on the page if you like.

https://hubpages.com/health/Curing-Sleep-Apnea

So, what's happening today is that I'm seeing a surgeon about having a very invasive surgery performed on my jaws called maxilla-mandibular advancement. In layman's terms, they break your jaws, upper and lower, install spacers, and move the jaws forward. This creates a larger airway and essentially reduces sleep apnea to where you no longer need a CPAP at night. I thought my insurance had approved this surgery, but the lady at the orthodontist office misspoke (I had asked her twice if it was the surgery that insurance had approved and she said yes) and insurance has not approved my surgery as of yet. Today, I am going for consultation with an oral surgeon and see what he says. My prayer is that they're able to get the surgery approved. Even though I have a documented medical disability that would benefit from the surgery, insurance will often treat this surgery as cosmetic and deny payment. The cosmetic benefits are great, and I would probably look younger as well. And I'll admit, I would love this because who wouldn't want to look better? However, my number one reason for doing this surgery is medical, and to end my struggles with sleep apnea.